Working group I

SIRGAS-WGI (Reference system) was established in 1993 along with the SIRGAS project. It is responsible for coordinating all the tasks needed to implement and maintain the SIRGAS reference frame. Initially, it coordinated the GPS campaigns for the establishment of the first two SIRGAS realizations SIRGAS95 and SIRGAS2000. At present, it takes care of the adequate functioning and analysis of the SIRGAS Continuously Operating Network. Since 2005, SIRGAS-WGI promotes the installation of analysis centres for SIRGAS under the responsibility of Latin American institutions and the use of SIRGAS observations for atmospheric (ionosphere and troposphere) studies. As a result of these activities, at present, the following Analysis Centres are routinely operating:

  1. One Analysis Centre for the Neutral Atmosphere: CIMA (Argentina);
  2. Eight SIRGAS Local Processing Centres under the responsibility of Latin American Institutions: CEPGE (Ecuador), IBGE (Brazil), IGAC (Colombia), IGM-Cl (Chile), IGN-Ar (Argentina), INEGI (Mexico), IGM-Uy (Uruguay) and USC (Chile);
  3. Two SIRGAS Combination Centres: IBGE (Brazil) and IGS RNAAC SIRGAS (DGFI-TUM, Germany).

Beyond the coordination of the interaction between the Operational Centres, the National Data Centres, and the SIRGAS Analysis Centres (Processing and Combination Centres), the SIRGAS-WGI continues promoting the establishment of new processing centres hosted by Latin American organizations. The main objective is that, in a near future, each SIRGAS member country become capable to process the data of its own continuously operating GNSS stations following the IGS standards.

Members of the SIRGAS-WGI

José Antonio Tarrío Mosquera (jose.tarrio@usach.cl), president, USC, Chile
Laura Sánchez (lm.sanchez@tum.de), coordinator with IGS, DGFI-TUM, Germany
Jesarella Inzunza (jesarella.inzunza@usach.cl), analysis coordonator, USC, Chile
Alberto Luis da Silva (alberto.luis@ibge.gov.br), network coordinator, IBGE, Brasil
Roberto Pérez Rodino (rodino@fing.edu.uy), UDELAR, Uruguay
Mauricio Gende (mgende@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar), GESA-UNLP, Argentina
José María Pampillón (jose.pampillon@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
Maria Virginia Mackern (vmackern@mendoza-conicet.gov.ar), CIMA, Argentina
Maria Laura Mateo (laura.mateo@ingenieria.uncuyo.edu.ar), CIMA, Argentina
Maria Fernanda Camisay (fernandacamisay@gmail.com), CIMA, Argentina
Patricia Alejandra Rosell (iapatriciarosell@gmail.com), CIMA, Argentina
Luciano P. O. Mendoza (lmendoza@fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar), FCAG-UNLP, Argentina
Víctor J. Cioce P. (vcioce@fing.luz.edu.ve), LUZ, Venezuela
Julio Teixeira (julio.teixeira@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
Roberto Silveira (roberto.silveira@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
María Belén Gándara (maria.gandara@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
Laura Camacho (laura.camacho@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
Santiago Chiruzzo (santiago.chiruzzo@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
Hugo Marcelo Pereira (hugo.pereira@igm.gub.uy), IGM, Uruguay
Alejandro Martinez (alejandro.martinez@geograficomilitar.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Marco Amores (marco.amores@geograficomilitar.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Edgar Parra (edgar.parra@geograficomilitar.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Camilo Quiroga (camilo.quiroga@geograficomilitar.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Bolivar Quelal (bolivar.quelal @ geograficomilitar.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Draco España (draco.espana@geograficomilitar.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Oscar Victor Paucar Llaja (opaucarll@ign.gob.pe, sirgas_peru@ign.gob.pe), IGN, Perú
Hernán Guagni (hguagni@ign.gob.ar), IGN, Argentina
Micaela Carbonetti (mcarbonetti@ign.gob.ar),IGN, Argentina
Guido González (guido.gonzalez@inegi.org.mx), INEGI, México
Guillermo Gasca (guillermo.gasca@inegi.org.mx), INEGI, México
Gabriel Gaytán (gabriel.gaytan@inegi.org.mx), INEGI, México
Jesarella Inzunza (jesarella.inzunza@usach.cl), USC, Chile
Marcelo Caverlotti (marcelo.caverlotti@usach.cl), USC, Chile
Fernando Isla (fernando.isla@usach.cl), USC, Chile
Catalina Cáceres (catalina.caceres@usach.cl), USC, Chile
Valeria Vásquez (valeria.vasquez.t@usach.cl), USC, Chile
José Luis Borcosque Díaz (jose.borcosque@usach.cl)
Marco Aurelio de Almeida Lima (marco.almeida@ibge.gov.br), IBGE, Brasil
Guiderlan Mantovani (guiderlan.mantovani@ibge.gov.br), IBGE, Brasil
Oscar Rodríguez (orodrig@igac.gov.co), IGAC, Colombia
Diego Cortés (diego.cortes@igac.gov.co), IGAC, Colombia
Siervo León (swleon@igac.gov.co), IGAC, Colombia
Emilio Aleuy Schwerter (geodesico@igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Sergio Rozas Bornes (sirgaschile@igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Ignacio Parada (sirgaschile@igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Claudio Reyes (sirgaschile@igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Germán Aguilera (sirgaschile@igm.cl), IGM, Chile

Past chairs

Víctor J. Cioce P. (2015 – 2020), LUZ, Venezuela
María Virginia Mackern (2008 – 2015), UN-Cuyo, U-Maza, Argentina
Sonia Maria Alves Costa (2007 – 2008), IBGE, Brazil
Claudio Brunini (2004 – 2007), UNLP, Argentina
Melvin Jesús Hoyer Romero (1993 – 2004), LUZ, Venezuela

Scroll to top